img  Aikijujutsu - 合気柔術


The art of aikijujutsu

The Aikijujutsu includes techniques of close combat, such as: atemi-waza (striking and kicking techniques), shime-waza (chokes, strangulation techniques), kansetsu-waza (joint locks techniques), osae-waza (grappling techniques), nage-waza (throw or takedown an opponent to the ground), aikinojutsu (throwing to the ground using Aiki), kyushuwaza ( pressure on vital points on the human body). A practitioner studies the use of several the ancient weapons of the bushi (like katana, yari, bo etc.). The many techniques of the aikijujutsu are transmitted and catalogued in scrolls (densho) which, in this case of the hiden mokuroku, is divided in a series (kajo), of an increasing difficulty of execution.

 ❖ There are 5 series in Hiden mokuroku:
1. Ikkajo: composed of 30 techniques, practice standing and kneeling
2. Nikajo: composed of 30 techniques, practice standing and kneeling
3. Sankajo: composed of 30 techniques, practice standing and kneeling
4. Yonkajo: composed of 15 techniques, practiced standing
5. Gokajo: composed of 13 techniques, practiced standing +
 - Tasudori ( defense techniques against multiple attackers )
 - Emonodori ( defense techniques for precious objects )
 - Bodori ( defense techniques from stick attacks )
 - Juttedori ( defense techniques from jutte attacks )
 - Tankendori ( defense techniques from knife attacks )
 - Daitodori ( defense techniques from katana attacks )
 - Kasadori ( defense techniques by using an umbrella )

The techniques are then divided in way of performing them

- idori : shite and uke working in knee
- hanza handachi : shite is kneeling, uke standing
- tachiai : both are standing
- ushirodori : uke attacks shite from the rear (standing).

Omote waza - Ura waza

Techniques called Omote (表) [is the visible] are techniques taught to all students and practitioners. These techniques can be demonstrated to the public (enbutaikai). The techniques called Ura (裏) [is the hidden, the secret] are techniques taught only to advanced students and are not allowed to demonstrate to the public.

Three areas that make up the aikijujutsu

1. Jujutsu (柔術) unarmed techniques; method of relying primarily on atemi, by applying direct and short movements such as : atemi-waza, nage-waza, shime-waza, kansetsu-waza.
2. Aikinojutsu (合気之術) unarmed techniques; method of replying mainly aiki (合気) concepts, by applying circular movements (taisabaki) such as aikinage:
- aikiage (movements of the hands directed upwards)
- aikisage (movements of the hands directed downwards)
3. Aikijujutsu (合気柔術)
the combination of the two systems described above creates a considerable number of techniques.

aiki concept

» Tokimune Takeda wrote:
Aiki concept (合気)

"Aiki is to pull when you are pushed, and to push when you are pulled. It is the spirit of slowness and speed, of harmonizing your movement with your opponent´s ki. Its opposite, kiai, is to push to the limit, while aiki never resists"
Kiai concept (気合)
"Kiai in the situation in which the opponent becomes involved by my ki-ai. As an example the shout (Ehi, Toho, Hath, Iehii, Hiaa) increases each one's courage and consequently allows the dealing of you opponent by you own will, scarring him and putting him a discouragement condition, without being able to offer any resistance"

Teaching is divided in four levels of depth

1. SHODEN   初伝 : beginning transmission
2. CHUDEN   中伝 : middle transmission
3. SOUDEN   相伝 : superior transmission
4. OKUDEN   奥伝 : secret transmission

img  It can interest also

kenjutsu techniques page

kato shigemitsu

Three areas that make up the kenjutsu
1. Nihon Kendonogata 剣道の型
2. Gogyonogata 五行の型
3. Ono-ha Itto-ryu Takeda-den 小野派一刀流  武田伝


skip to kenjutsu page »